Answered By: Web Master
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2015     Views: 9

Established by Congress on July 6, 1960. Prior to this, the Air Force had awarded the Distinguished Service Cross. It is a bronze cross with an American eagle and a laurel wreath. In addition to being awarded to Air Force personnel, it can also be awarded to members of foreign military forces and to American and foreign civilians serving with the armed forces of the United States. The Air Force Cross, the Navy Cross, and the Distinguished Service Cross (Army) are the highest awards, except for the Medal of Honor, given by their respective services. They are awarded for extraordinary heroism in military operations against an enemy of the United States. (Source: Air Force Officer's Guide, 34th ed., p. 176. REF UG633 .A1 A49 2005) (HN & DH)

Related Topics

Contact Us





Call: 843.953.2569

Fax: 843.953.8446

Text: 843.605.4536

Meet: Schedule a Research Consultation

Follow: Facebook / Twitter

See: InstagramFlickr