Answered By: Web Master
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2015     Views: 74

1948-2007. Citadel Class of 1974. Physics major. He was The Citadel's most prolific author of both books and screenplays. His works were regularly on the best-seller lists. He was better known under his pseudonyms, Robert Jordan, Reagan O'Neal, Jackson O'Reilly, and Chang Lung, than under his real name. Fantasy and science fiction were written under the name of Robert Jordan. James Rigney ranks with the best writers of all time in this genre.

Some of his books include the following: Conan the Defender, Conan the Destroyer, Conan the Invincible, Conan the Unconquered, Conan the Victorious, A Crown of Swords, The Dragon Reborn, The Eye of the World, The Fires of Heaven, The Great Hunt, Lord of Chaos, The Path of Daggers, The Shadow Rising, Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time series.

Under the name Reagan O'Neal, he wrote historic romances including the following: The Fallon Blood, and The Fallon Pride. Under the name Jackson O'Reilly, he wrote a western, notably Cheyenne Raiders.

James Rigney served two tours of duty in Vietnam, and earned numerous military honors including the Distinguished Flying Cross, Bronze Star with "V," and twice received the Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry.

In 2008, James Rigney was inducted posthumously into the South Carolina Academy of Authors.

James Rigney was also a board member of the Friends of the Daniel Library.

(Sources: Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series, vol. 111, pp. 343-345. REF Z1224 .C58 v. 111; "S.C. Academy Honors Late Fantasy Writer," Post and Courier, March 2, 2008)

Related Topics

Contact Us





Call: 843.953.2569

Fax: 843.953.8446

Text: 843.605.4536

Meet: Schedule a Research Consultation

Follow: Facebook / Twitter

See: InstagramFlickr